Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

Does anyone cook restaurant quality food at home?

Has anybody else discovered it is too expensive to go out all the time, but not to gourmet cook at home?. Has anybody discovered they are a home chef within the past two years, and enjoy it?

by Anonymousreply 22July 26, 2022 11:46 AM

I’m a good cook and a great one when I’m in the mood. I don’t have a dishwasher and my Bf is the worst dishwasher in the world so I cook less than I would like

by Anonymousreply 1July 24, 2022 10:11 PM

Deep Thoughts, by....

by Anonymousreply 2July 24, 2022 10:12 PM

Yes, it's not as hard as you think. 10 years ago, I was one of those people who could burn water. I have steadily learned small things and general techniques in the kitchen. Because I enjoy food, I like reading recipes. I think what I am good at is finding are good recipes or at least writer's I trust. I don't generally deviate from recipes too much, because I am not to that level, but the few times I have, have been generally good. You don't need a ton of standout dishes to master, but find a few things you like and experiment. I recommend Ina Garten's recipes which are mostly foolproof and also Deb Perelman of the Smitten Kitchen blog. Both of their recipes have almost never steered me wrong.

by Anonymousreply 3July 24, 2022 10:14 PM