Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

Was closing down all of The State Asylums the biggest mistake The United States made?

I've been asking myself this question a lot since around 2015 with the rise of The Trump Cult and break down of all rationality.

I know the horrible history behind these asylums but look at the alternative. We now have a deeply sick nation, overflowing with people who should be comfortably tucked away in a padded cell and sharing their nutjob conspiracies with the soft padded walls, instead of infecting the minds of others and voting in elections because of their psychotic delusions.

Offsite Link
by Anonymousreply 92August 31, 2022 4:13 PM

The ACLU didn't like the asylums. Who are 𝑦𝑜𝑢 to argue.

by Anonymousreply 1May 14, 2022 6:14 AM

It was NOT a NUTHOUSE!

by Anonymousreply 2May 14, 2022 6:27 AM

One of the biggest at least.

by Anonymousreply 3May 14, 2022 6:31 AM

Danvers is a good name for a mental hospital.

by Anonymousreply 4May 14, 2022 6:36 AM

Yes and no. Yes, because we have a lot of mentally ill people roaming around unwilling to get help, and no because many of these places abused the patients. It’s a question of individual rights.

by Anonymousreply 5May 14, 2022 6:39 AM

The old Danvers mental hospital is luxury apartments now.

by Anonymousreply 6May 14, 2022 6:39 AM

R1 Reagan was the driving force nehind the closers, not the ACLU.