Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

German POWs in the U.S. during the War

I am just learning this story and it is fascinating and eye-opening. There were a half-million of these men here, doing all the factory and farm jobs our deployed men left behind.

Only around 50% of them approved of Hitler, and of those, only around 10% were fervent Nazis. They were shocked to see how American newspapers reported Allied losses honestly and it helped convert them to believing in democracy.

They set up schools in their barracks where they taught themselves English, and things like history of the Native American tribes, , and Chinese language. They were shocked by racial segregation in the South and felt the US was hypocritical for criticizing Hitler's race policies.

When they saw the newsreels of Auschwitz they laughed as they thought they were seeing propaganda films. When they realized it was real, many turned their backs on Germany (one camp of 1,500 men burned their German uniforms in a bonfire) and started a fund for survivors of the death camps and the American war chest out of their pocket-money. Many offered to join the Allied war effort and there was actually a government plan to send them to the Pacific.