Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

Homophobia in High School - What Was Your Experience?

Did you experience homophobia when you were in high school? Here's my remembrance from the mid-1970s. Please let me know if you can relate.

Offsite Link
by Anonymousreply 111August 4, 2020 12:04 AM

I graduated a few years ahead of you, and while there were some bullies, I was mostly ignored with few friends. So I became mostly a loner. Many of the guys assumed I was gay (I hadn't admitted it to myself yet), but as long as I didn't come on to them, they pretty much left me alone. As with you, they were more interested in girls.

by Anonymousreply 1July 30, 2020 8:35 PM

Two words kept me alive: Drama Club.

by Anonymousreply 2July 30, 2020 8:37 PM

Hi, I'm new to Data Lounge and mistakenly clicked on the FF button for one of the replies to my post. His reply -- Drama Club -- certainly was not inappropriate! I appreciate his and everyone else's comments.

by Anonymousreply 3July 30, 2020 8:48 PM

I was towed the line and wasn’t totally flaming. So for me, the girls were worse than the guys. The guys were direct, they’d tease you and few threatened to beat your ass if they suspected you were gay. As long as you we’re passably masculine they mostly left you alone.