Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

Investment Advisor vs Attorney

Hello all, could I please get some advice?

I graduated from a local college back in May 2019 with a BBA in marketing with a 3.5 GPA . I currently work as a financial/investment advisor in a city of about 100,000 in ETX. I have been fortunate to work at a laid back and flexible company that is paying for all of my licenses. My boss is 63 and wants to retire in 5-7 years. In my year as an advisor, I have made wonderful connections and joined the Symphony Board. I could eventually take over.

However, I have always wanted to be a lawyer since I was a kid. I took the LSAT last year and scored a 145 after a few weeks of studying. With my GPA and LSAT, I could get into some lower tier schools, (Loyola- NOLA or St Mary's) however, I have a lot of connections in my small town and would not mind coming back to practice law. I do like the idea of going to New Orleans though.

So, my question is: what would you do if you were in my situation? Would you give up your dreams to end up running your own independent brokerage firm?

You guys all talk about being smart and well educated, so looking for some advice.

by Anonymousreply 55August 28, 2020 5:50 PM

Country boys make do! And are the people offering advice going to be compensated ¿

by Anonymousreply 1May 22, 2020 3:24 PM