Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

Alternative Disinfectants

Since rubbing alcohol and hand sanitizer are both pretty much out of stock in most areas here are a couple of alternatives. The mouthwash I've been using for over 50 years is Dr. Tichenors. It's a concentrated mouthwash. You mix 1 part DT and 5 parts water. It can also be used as a sanitizer and disinfectant. Full strength it will kill most any germ or virus. Trust me, you definitely wouldn't want to use it as a mouthwash full strength. I see it's still available in most store that sell it. Apparently few have figured out it has other uses than as a mouthwash. It's generally around $5.00 or less per bottle (pay no attention to the prices you see on Ebay, etc - it's $4.96/ea at Walmart). But one bottle will last you a very long time

Also, Listerine is a good disinfectant and can be used to clean surfaces and hands if need be. The generic brands such as the Equate brand at Walmart are just as good as name brand Listerine. Dollar Tree even has a generic brand and it is just as strong as the real thing.

Offsite Link
by Anonymousreply 4March 30, 2020 2:43 PM

Unfortunately they color the Dollar Tree version with pig urine.

by Anonymousreply 1March 30, 2020 1:53 PM

This is fucking ridiculous that we’re having to resort to this.