Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

How the fuck can homeless people have phones?

I walked into a Toronto library this morning and there were five homeless people in the foyer and all of them had smartphones.

I work for a living and I can't afford an iPhone but two of these homeless people had them.

by Anonymousreply 132December 3, 2019 6:13 AM

They are not paying $3,000 a month for a studio apartment.

by Anonymousreply 1November 18, 2019 10:59 PM

But you have to have good credit and an address to get a phone like that.

by Anonymousreply 2November 18, 2019 11:01 PM

They have directv subscriptions too.

by Anonymousreply 3November 18, 2019 11:02 PM

They probably found the phones somewhere and use the wifi in the library without actually paying for phone service.

by Anonymousreply 4November 18, 2019 11:03 PM

You’re talking about 2 tin cans and a string, right?

by Anonymousreply 5November 18, 2019 11:10 PM

We're sending you our homeless, OP.

They have Obamaphones.

by Anonymousreply 6November 18, 2019 11:16 PM

I see homeless people on their laptops sitting under the palm trees on the neutral ground in New Orleans. They look like a scene in a New Yorker cartoon. They each have their own palm tree with a little towel to sit on and they are typing away. Probably all on DL.

by Anonymousreply 7November 18, 2019 11:17 PM

Even homeless, they're still better than you.