Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

On the day of your college graduation...

... how much student debt did you have?

by Anonymousreply 13November 26, 2018 12:54 AM

$0 when I graduated undergrad in 2000. $140K when I graduated law school in 2016.

by Anonymousreply 1November 25, 2018 8:56 PM

$0. I went to community college first and then state school. Scholarship paid for some of it and myself/my parents covered the rest. Thank God for this because I would have been screwed otherwise.

by Anonymousreply 2November 25, 2018 9:14 PM

$25,000 for two years at UCLA. I went to community college to do the first two years.

18 years of paying $375 per month and I still owed $25000.

2 years of forebearance at 9% interest will do that. Finally paid it off when I sold my car and took out a loan from a 401k. And no, I couldn't refinance at a lower interest rate because it was with Sallie Mae and I had already consolidated. As a result of my years of paying, I'm way behind my peers who didn't take on debt and bought houses.

by Anonymousreply 3November 25, 2018 9:19 PM

$28,xxx. I'm repaying it back at $5/mo. Will be eligible to dismiss the debt after 2 years

by Anonymousreply 4November 25, 2018 9:27 PM

None - university education was free in Australia when I was studying.

It’s not any more, though - same crippling student debts as you guys.

by Anonymousreply 5November 25, 2018 9:39 PM