Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

High Tide / Low Tide

Does everyone know these general schedules but me? Or are there NO schedules?

I went to a tide pool in the late afternoon today and stared at things. I saw frolicking hermit crabs. No star fish or sea anemones...but i’m just getting started.

Then I started thinking, If someone did this every day, (like, wanted to spy on the day to day changes in a particular tide pool), would you have to always be adjusting your visitation schedule?

Because now I want to see the area at High Tide, for starters....but is that at consistent times? Then I want to poke at it again at low tide.

I’m suddenly wondering if everyone knows all this but me : (

Offsite Link
by Anonymousreply 77November 8, 2018 7:53 AM

There are two high and two low tides every lunar day (24 hours and 50 minutes), so each high/low occurs 12 hours and 25 minutes from the last. Just look up a tide chart for your location.

by Anonymousreply 1October 17, 2018 4:22 AM

Go purchase a "Tide Book," Op.

by Anonymousreply 2October 17, 2018 4:27 AM

You will see more at low tide.

by Anonymousreply 3October 17, 2018 4:32 AM

But, do you generally think of high and low tide as being the same every day? Or is there wide variations?

by Anonymousreply 4October 17, 2018 4:36 AM

I didn’t see r1 at first

THANK YOU!

by Anonymousreply 5October 17, 2018 4:40 AM