Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Any birdwatchers on DL?

If so, can you explain what drew you to the hobby and what about it appeals to you?

by Anonymousreply 9304/21/2019

It's a way of getting my mind off my troubles by paying close attention to nature. Getting out into the woods and stalking the wildlife takes tremendous concentration on the natural world, which resets something in the brain and mitigates the effect of my high-stress job.

Also, it's a way to go on small quests! Taking a long weekend to go to Big Sur too look for California Condors is more fun than just going to Big Sur to hang out.

by Anonymousreply 105/08/2018

Great insights, r1 ; thanks!

Any suggestions for a novice birder?

by Anonymousreply 205/08/2018

I'm a novice birdwatcher as well. I guess what fascinates me is that there are so many kinds, some more beautiful than others, some more rare than others. Each kind with a specific behaviour. I also like butterflys and dragonflys.

As R1 said it provides a good reason for going out into nature, but it's also soothing just to watch birds from the living room window.

by Anonymousreply 305/08/2018

[quote]Any suggestions for a novice birder?

Try to find a purple Martin early in the morning. It’s divine.

by Anonymousreply 405/08/2018

My suggestions for a novice birder, R2? My primary suggestion is just get outside and look around! Go to your local hiking trails and hike, take your binoculars and camera along and see what you see, and maybe try to puzzle out things you saw and didn't understand when you get home.

The worst that can happen is that you get some exercise.

by Anonymousreply 505/08/2018

Thanks R5

by Anonymousreply 605/08/2018

Then I find this ...

by Anonymousreply 708/20/2018

Me. I love my hummingbirds. They make me so utterly happy. Yes, I know...MARY!

by Anonymousreply 808/20/2018