Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

How many gay men were molested as kids and think that makes them gay?

I am a lawyer and one my clients told me on Friday that he was molested as a young boy and that made him gay. I told him that you can't make a person gay. But I also thought that if I had been raised in a community where gays acts were taboo, I too might grow up thinking that way. Or maybe it is just self-hate.%0D %0D I don't believe you can make a person gay, but can your actions toward them convince them that they are gay? Just asking.

by Anonymousreply 20311/12/2012

They're looking for an 'excuse' to explain their 'perversion'. Lots of straight guys were molested and stayed straight. It's just a coincidence that the priest diddled you and you ended up gay or bi.

by Anonymousreply 108/15/2010

I remember my intense same-sex attraction in second grade, and my Easy Bake oven and Barbie doll, and that all of these occurred many years before anyone ever diddled my privates.

by Anonymousreply 208/15/2010

OP implies that our being gay caused the molestation. We were PUNISHED for being gay.

by Anonymousreply 508/15/2010

Of course you can make a person gay. That's what happened to me. Not that I AM gay, I just struggle with homosexuality.

by Anonymousreply 708/15/2010

No, it cannot "make you gay". Just ask any therapist. But it sure can create other problems...

by Anonymousreply 808/15/2010

Oh dear.

by Anonymousreply 1008/15/2010

You just know MHB just fantasizes about that.

by Anonymousreply 1108/15/2010

Molestation can't make you gay. However, it can cause severe sexual problems (including sexual identity and performance problems) in later life. I believe there is a lot of evidence on all of this. Perhaps, OP, your client falls in that category.

by Anonymousreply 1208/15/2010