Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Should I lie on my resume?

Does everyone really check every single little thing?

by Anonymousreply 4605/26/2013

Go ahead. And after you get hired you can tell them about your Canadian girlfriend.

by Anonymousreply 107/09/2010

It depends on what you plan to lie about.

by Anonymousreply 207/09/2010

Lie about what? Education? Employment? Skills - be careful.

by Anonymousreply 307/09/2010

What about dates of employment?

by Anonymousreply 407/09/2010

I lie about the year I graduated from college on my resume. I shave off 2 years. I also shave off two years of my age. You can always just say it was a typo or something.

by Anonymousreply 507/09/2010

How extreme a lie about dates? A few months or a few years?

by Anonymousreply 607/09/2010

A few months.

by Anonymousreply 707/09/2010

I paid the $35 to register a business with a friend under his name just so I could say that the 6 months I sat around the house this year were spent as in-house consultant at his business.

If you're gonna lie, do it right.

by Anonymousreply 807/09/2010

by Anonymousreply 907/09/2010

OP, why bother?

by Anonymousreply 1007/09/2010

I was a bookstore manager for about 15 years, jumping around to all the major chains. My career in that industry began and ended at a store that is now no longer in business... so according to my resume, I worked there all 15 years. I would prefer that nobody at my current job know about the middle years at the other company, still very much in business, where I was a less than stellar employee.

by Anonymousreply 1107/09/2010

If you do get hired and, at some future date, have an employment issue, it does give them a reason to fire you with cause.

by Anonymousreply 1207/09/2010

Lying on one's resume indicates a lack of confidence. Aren't you good enough as you are?

by Anonymousreply 1307/09/2010