Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

Elder gays, were the late 60s as good of a time as it looked?

Those of you who lived it?

Offsite Link
by Anonymousreply 64December 4, 2022 11:48 AM

I’m wondering if it smelled as bad as it looked.

by Anonymousreply 1December 2, 2022 5:54 PM

That looks like Berkeley in the 80s, when I was a student! Or even now…until Peoples’s Park was finally re-conquered?

by Anonymousreply 2December 2, 2022 5:57 PM

I lived the early seventies and it was divine. things didn't really change until the embargo, and from there it was downhill. I cry when I think about how good life was , but Then again, I was from a wealthy, white background, so there's that

by Anonymousreply 3December 2, 2022 5:58 PM

It was a time of great conflict. War in Vietnam, race, youth rebellion. Women rights and gay rights just beginning to be thought out. All of this against a the monolithic post war culture. A far more conservative and rigid world than the one we live in today

by Anonymousreply 4December 2, 2022 5:59 PM

R4 is Funk…of Funk & Wagnall’s 🙄

by Anonymousreply 5December 2, 2022 6:01 PM

I was a kid, but it was an ugly time. War, multiple assassinations, horrid fashion and people reeked of patchouli.

by Anonymousreply 6December 2, 2022 6:01 PM

How was the air quality and cleanliness of the streets prior to recycling laws and the EPA?

by Anonymousreply 7December 2, 2022 6:04 PM