Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

Rich Girls Marrying Down — How Prevalent?

I graduated high school in 2004.

I haven’t given thought to my old classmates in years, but recently dug up an old yearbook and got curious on what these people are up to.

I grew up in a wealthy Dallas neighborhood where many kids lived in households with incomes of $200k or more and got flashy luxury cars for their 16th birthdays.

Many of the prettiest girls carried themselves with an air of superiority and even back then, I think most people envisioned them marrying wealthy, well connected men after college.

I was surprised to find that many of them have married middle class or worse:

One of the most obnoxious girls whose parents lived in an $800k house married a man who works at a meat processing plant and lives in a hick town in the middle of Arkansas. A pretty Jewish girl whose parents lived in a $1MM house married a manager at a Gap. Another married a former military, low-level sales person. Yet another, who used to drive her parents Lexus LX to school, married a blue collar guy. They mostly all have kids but their current lifestyles are far from the privilege they grew up with.

I was surprised by this because these girls were very attractive and should have married at minimum guys in their own social strata. Is this common?

by Anonymousreply 96May 5, 2021 8:57 PM

They married to get the big dicks.