Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

I think Hamilton is just okay. Am I stupid?

I mean I was Valedictorian in high school and I have a BFA degree in musical theater from a top school so I should be smart. But when I see so many people going crazy over something like Hamilton, I don't think they're stupid. I think I might be. Also- sometimes Broadway shows take a couple viewings before I like them which again makes me think that I'm not smart enough to comprehend greatness right away. Examples: Rent, The Book of Mormon, and Urinetown. I hated those shows on first viewing but LOVE them now. Once I watched them a couple more times, it clicked. I wonder if I'm just slow and Hamilton will click in a couple years. Thoughts?

by Anonymousreply 167August 9, 2020 10:08 AM

[quote] I have a BFA degree in musical theater from a top school

You say that like it's a good thing, with some actual use or purpose.

by Anonymousreply 1July 13, 2020 6:31 AM

r1- You'd think that'd be a good thing for evaluating the quality of a good musical.

by Anonymousreply 2July 13, 2020 6:36 AM