Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

NY Unemployment Benefits

I’m a freelancer on unemployment bc of Covid. If my job offers me work and I say no...will unemployment find out?

by Anonymousreply 9May 22, 2020 10:07 PM

Now they will.

by Anonymousreply 1May 22, 2020 8:36 PM

If you're a freelancer, then you don't have a job. You may have clients whose projects you accept or not. How's the state going to find out?

by Anonymousreply 2May 22, 2020 8:40 PM

This is OP.

I should have specified that I freelance for one (large) company.

by Anonymousreply 3May 22, 2020 8:44 PM

Since you are in an ungodly situation can you move, please? Its time my girls and I make NY know it

by Anonymousreply 4May 22, 2020 8:47 PM

if that company is paying unemployment benefits on you, yes, they absolutely will find out because the company will dispute it when they get the weekly summary from the state.

by Anonymousreply 5May 22, 2020 8:47 PM

Hopefully, yes.

by Anonymousreply 6May 22, 2020 9:14 PM

On the form it asks if you earned money that week or not. Personally I would call UE and ask what the regulation is of say one week you get a gig and the next 3 you do not work. But be careful because anything you tell them could turn on you...the UE workers are not exactly high IQ plateau

by Anonymousreply 7May 22, 2020 9:29 PM