Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

Just got laid off

I worked in marketing for a design firm that has recently been slowing down in terms of work. I just was let go on Wednesday with a decent severance because they want to get someone in with more development experience. Staff is shocked and upset that I was let go - never a bad personnel report, never did less than a stellar job. Truth be told, I was looking to make a move and maybe they found out? In any case, they beat me to the punch.

Now i'm in that terrible position of looking for a new job without being currently employed. My partner is being very supportive and the severance is basically two months worth of salary. Really trying not to be depressed and as a long-time DLer i'm hoping you bitches can offer some support.

by Anonymousreply 87August 23, 2019 11:07 PM

GOOD luck! it could be worse, you can be like me, who hasn't worked outside of the home in 2 years and can't work outside the home because he has to take care of his widowed mother and the family dog and thus has to try to find work form home doing something that pays decent but 99.9% of work from home jobs are 1) scams 2) pay 10 to 12 dollars a hour 3) can only work from home after you have worked for the company for 10 plus years or more or 4) are i.t. and other technological jobs that i'm not qualified for or have any experience in!...