Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

Acting/Voice classes for nonactors?

I'm a writer who wants to take a class to learn some acting techniques. Sometimes I'm at a mic to read something I've written, and I'll need to do a recording of my book soon, but more than that, I think acting techniques are fascinating and I bet they'd free me up.

Any recommendations on NY classes, studios, or methods for people who don't intend to go out on auditions? So far I'm considering Linklater, HB Studio, Michael Howard, Barrow Group. I see Feldenkrais mentioned in some voice training courses.

Thanks for any class recommendations.

by Anonymousreply 13July 19, 2019 7:20 PM

What you have is a mixed bag that is somewhat apples and oranges.

Some of what you are listing are techniques, some are schools. The two techniques you mention are not acting techniques. Linklater is primarily a voice production technique (abiet one tailored to the needs of actors). Feldenkreis is a physical/brain patterning technique that is often taught to actors, but is not specifically related to acting.

All of this is confusing as you look through the marketing these organizations put out. What may help is to know what kind of help you want.