Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

What are my chances of making it into medical school? (serious answers please)

I'm in my last year at university and my average is about 85%. But unfortunately, I failed 3 courses in my first university and had to retake those courses (my gpa of 85% did not include those failed courses).

I'm Canadian and I'm open to going to medical school to United States if I get in. For those of you who went through the process or know about the process, do you think I could make the cut (I know it's harder for people outside of the country to get into medical school in the United States).

by Anonymousreply 3410/13/2013

OP, I'm not trying to be obnoxious but I don't think your chances are great.

I just spent last year finishing my MBA with two students who headed to med school this past September. They completed a One Year MBA as a part of their "Gap Year" before Med School. They were two of the most startlingly bright people I'd ever met. Not wise, mind you, but off the charts smart. Neither of them had ever received a grade below an A- in anything and they were both Biochemistry undergrad majors.

They are both attending med school in the Dominican because they couldn't get into a US program.

So, if these two were any indication - good luck. Do some major voluteer work to make yourself stand out.

by Anonymousreply 110/13/2013

I have a friend who had the highest MCAT scores at Harvard College. He applied to 26 medical schools and got into none. Why? Well, they don't say. But he handed his thesis in very late and failed intensive Chinese his sophomore year when he took it as a 5th course.

Medical schools value discipline and reliability.

He is now a tenured professor of Biochemistry at a different Ivy league school.

by Anonymousreply 210/13/2013

by Anonymousreply 310/13/2013