Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Michigan college student: "Obamacare raped my future."

"My name is Ashley Dionne and I’m a 26-year-old recent graduate from Michigan. The phony Obamacare signup poster boy made me want to send a message about how Obamacare is really affecting people. I graduated from The University of Michigan in 2009. In my state, this used to mean something, but even with a bachelor’s I was told I was too educated and wouldn’t stay. I watched as kids with GEDs and high school diploma’s took the low-paying jobs for which I applied. I went back to school and got a second degree and finally found work at a gym. I work nights and only get 32 hours a week for eight dollars an hour. I’m unable to find a second job at this time. I have asthma, ulcers, and mild cerebral palsy. Obamacare takes my monthly rate from $75 a month for full coverage on my “Young Adult Plan,” to $319 a month. After $6,000 in deductibles, of course. Liberals claimed this law would help the poor. I am the poor, the working poor, and I can’t afford to support myself, let alone older generations and people not willing to work at all. This law has raped my future."

by Anonymousreply 17112/27/2013

Well, that sucks. :(

by Anonymousreply 110/12/2013

Two degrees and works at the gym? What were the degrees in?

Why was she applying for the low end jobs to start with?

1) I think she's trolling. 2) If she's legit, she's got other issues at work that she didn't talk about. You can just sense it reading the post. 3) Even if I took everything she said as true and not her fault, then maybe we should change the system that makes it so that people can't earn a living wage instead of attacking the first person in I don't know how long who has at least done SOMETHING to make it better.