Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

After Dark Magazine

They had some serious balls to try and say that the magazine wasn't gay.

Sooooooooooooooooooooooooo GAY.

by Anonymousreply 4209/08/2013

I was a ghost writer for After Dark. It was gay, very, very gay.

by Anonymousreply 109/01/2013

Back when I was in college in the mid-80s I discovered our library's run of bound early-70s After Darks in the periodical stacks. I used to park myself in a carrel and look at them when I had time to kill or was bored of studying. I wasn't out yet and they were pretty fascinating to me at the time.

by Anonymousreply 209/01/2013

I'm not gay; I'm bisexual!!!

by Anonymousreply 309/01/2013

WEHT Norma McClain Stoop?

by Anonymousreply 409/01/2013

R1 .... interesting ....why a 'ghost' writer, instead of a staff writer. Were you writing a column for one of their 'known' columnists ??

by Anonymousreply 509/01/2013

Back in that same era, there wasn't anything gayer than GQ, except for maybe Honcho. The early years of Details also seemed to be completely targeted to gays.

by Anonymousreply 609/01/2013

W and W for r3!!!!!!

by Anonymousreply 709/01/2013

Yep R5. I did. He couldn’t write for shit. He got paid the big bucks and I got peanuts. I quit after 3 years of being stupid enough to take it. Jobs were not that hard to get way back then. I should have quit after a few months. I wasn’t the only ghost there either.

It’s that way to this day with most magazines and newspaper columns. Hell, half the books published are written by ghost writers along with many plays, films and TV shows. You’d be surprised how many well known writers can’t write or once could and have become too lazy to do it.

by Anonymousreply 809/01/2013