Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Janet Jackson's first #1 hit "When I Think of You" turns 27 today

It made her and Michael the only siblings to achieve a Hot 100 #1, and it also made her the youngest artist since Stevie Wonder to top the Hot 100.

by Anonymousreply 20708/05/2013

The music video for the single was one of the first one-take music video clips. Directed by filmmaker Julien Temple, it was shot on one of the old MGM studio sets and featured choreography by Paula Abdul and legendary choreographer Michael Kidd. The clip is similar to the opening sequence of Temple's film "Absolute Beginners".

Swedish pop star Robyn once covered the song in concert.

by Anonymousreply 207/28/2013

She's also married to a raped woman firing billionaire. Kudos!

by Anonymousreply 507/28/2013

Classic song from the 80s. Janet has two nephews in the video, Taj and TJ I think.

by Anonymousreply 707/28/2013

Yeah, they're at the beginning. Paula is in the video too.

by Anonymousreply 807/28/2013

Hi, Janbot!

by Anonymousreply 907/28/2013

Time to take the pathetic bitch at R10 to school.

[quote]She continued making flop album after flop album.

No, honey. DAMITA JO and 20 YO hit platinum status and Discipline was her 6th #1 album. No one sells albums like they used to. If you weren't so fucking stupid, you'd know this.

[quote]Her book was #1 on the Hardcover Advice and Misc. section for one week

Bullshit. It was #1 on the NY Times Bestselling list, period. Doesn't matter if it was only for a week. I'm sure you read my post and went for some hardfact checking on Google just to prove some sort of Janet-hating point, but it didn't work.

[quote]She was in a couple of Tyler Perry movies. Tyler Perry movies are successful regardless of who's in them.