Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Pretentious NYC Cycling Studio SOUL CYCLE - Are these bitches kidding?!?

I've been doing aerobic cycling/Spin classes since the early 2000s and recently decided to give up my gym membership since I have my own space at home, but I miss and need Spinning.

For the first time, I decided to look into Soul Cycle, a chain here in New York and apparently with other locations in big cities.

I went into one location about a year ago and the staff was over the top snotty and obnoxious. I figured it was just a one time thing but calling these guys yesterday for info., I received the same nasty, snotty attitude. AND they charge nearly $35 for ONE CLASS!!! Seriously. How the fuck does this place stay in business?!? I suppose they cater to a wealthy crowd but come on!

And check out the photos of their NYC instructors. Once I looked through this I finally realized this place is not for me. But it's really frustrating since I'd have to join a club again to get the benefits of an intense indoor cycling class.

by Anonymousreply 3210/01/2013

My 27 year old son does Soul Cycle. He was a little flabby and out of shape before and he's trimmed down a lot. I agree the price is ridiculous and it seems pretentious but he seems to enjoy it (whereas he'd rarely go to the gym).

by Anonymousreply 107/02/2013

R1, it's really hard for someone really fat/flabby to jump into cycling that way. But since he's young, and assuming he wasn't really obese, I suppose he adjusted to it well.

I know a lot of heavy people who've gotten into it, but as someone who's done it for years and even as a certified instructor myself, I'd recommend doing a few weeks of treadmill before attempting a 'Spin' class.

Glad it's helping your son.. 27 AND into cycling.. He should have his pick of boy/girls if he's that into it. ;-)

by Anonymousreply 207/02/2013

There's an instructor named String?