Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

We're having a COCKTAIL PARTY!

My boyfriend and I have been negligent in entertaining friends for the last 6 months or so and to make up for some of it we're having a cocktail party the Friday of pride week here in Minneapolis. It will be minimum 20 people.

While we've thought a bit about having a gay theme (rainbow colored crudite?), I'm not sure we're going to go that way. We'll definitely have one pitcher of a mixed cocktail to pour over ice, a few bottles of red and white wine. Not sure I want to do beer at all but we'll see.

Now when it comes to food is where I get lost. Would love any ideas for hors d'oeovres you have. I'm a decent cook so don't worry about that.

by Anonymousreply 7807/01/2013

Healthy stuff. Hummus dip for crudités

by Anonymousreply 206/18/2013

I love mini hotdogs too.

by Anonymousreply 306/18/2013

Is everyone on DL who'll be in Minneapolis that Friday invited, OP? Because it's rude to discuss a party in front of people who aren't invited.

by Anonymousreply 406/18/2013

Do you want a cocktail party or a gay-pride cocktail party?

The latter would offer a focus and remove the problems you're stepping into by not offering the open bar conventionally associated with a real "cocktail party." And since people don't actually know how to behave at a cocktail party (standing, milling mixing, amusing) you'll avoid the awkwardness of having people not knowing how to behave like adults.

Or call it a wine party and have done with it. People know how to deal with those. You could throw in a punch (don't call it a "cocktail pitcher"), too. And you could skip the decorations. Your subtext sounds like you need to keep things modest.

You could keep the food easy - crostini and bruschetta with a few toppings each - with crudites (include enough oddities so it doesn't seem hackneyed). NO dessert items. Keep it all savory.