Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

I lost my job on Monday.

The entire creative team at my agency was eliminated during a conference call with top brass. The bad part is, we were contractors. I took the gig in the height of the recession, it paid well, and I was very thankful for a well-paying job. Now I'm not qualified for unemployment, since I was a contractor, and I am freaking. out. I've been there for three-plus yrs.

My partner keeps telling me to look on the bright side - use the time to reflect on what I really want to do! Enjoy the time off! (I never, ever take time off.) Easy to say, but the income was helpful to say the least. I feel sick and scared.

by Willy Loehmanreply 1705/22/2013

Sorry to hear this. I'm not sure if it's true or not, given that DL is rife with EST's and the like. If it's genuine, I am genuinely sorry for your situation.

by Willy Loehmanreply 105/22/2013

[quote]I never, ever take time off.

Oh, you're one of those.

by Willy Loehmanreply 205/22/2013

Just look for another job and focus on that. Your partner sounds supportive so you're not so bad off.

by Willy Loehmanreply 305/22/2013

OP is DL's "I work at a 'creative agency'" troll.

by Willy Loehmanreply 405/22/2013

Since you were working during the height of the recession, you should have a much easier time finding another job. On the surface, the economy is recovering and most solid companies positioned themselves very well during the worst of it, leaving them lots of cash to use to move forward. Best of luck to you!! (take a little time off, it will help you)

by Willy Loehmanreply 505/22/2013

Thanks. Not an EST, sadly.

by Willy Loehmanreply 605/22/2013

The same thing happened to me Monday, after 17 years for political reasons (although the stated reason was "budget cuts.") I'm more devastated today than ever because the numbness has worn off. I can't stop crying.

by Willy Loehmanreply 705/22/2013