Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Internship Advice

I'm in grad school and my program requires a 425 hour internship (worth 6 credit hours) as one of the core requirements. So far I'm having zero luck and I'm actually a little surprised at how hard it has been to secure a non-paid position at a nonprofit. I have a great full time job and I'm not looking to turn an internship into anything longterm, yet I already got turned down by HRC and I fear more rejection is in my future.

I'm new to the internship thing and any practical advice on selling myself would be greatly appreciated.

by Pass This Onreply 1705/15/2013

Most non-profits are a complete joke. Look elsewhere.

by Pass This Onreply 105/09/2013

$ell your$elf

by Pass This Onreply 205/09/2013

D'oh. I guess since I'm in HR I figured I'd be idealistic and go with a nonprofit, but thanks for pulling the wool from my eyes, R1.

by Pass This Onreply 305/09/2013

Most nonprofits don't need internships in HR. We need people to do real work. Try a big hospital or a large company.

by Pass This Onreply 405/09/2013

Meh

by Pass This Onreply 505/09/2013

For the record, R4, I'm more than willing and capable of doing *real* work, but your little snide comment only reinforces what R1 said about nonprofits.

by Pass This Onreply 605/09/2013

It's not about being willing/capable to do it. It's about not having a need for it. A lot of nonprofits don't even have HR departments. But I'm talking about real nonprofits, not the ones raising money to throw bigger parties, like HRC. My office is always looking for writers, researchers and IT interns. "HR" is done by whoever has the time that week.

by Pass This Onreply 705/09/2013