Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Can dumb actors "project intelligence"?

How hard is it?

by Anonymousreply 4205/05/2013

I'm not a rocket scientist; I just play one on the big screen.

by Anonymousreply 205/04/2013

... LINE!

by Anonymousreply 305/04/2013

Not really. Salma Hayek always comes across as an airhead no matter the part.

by Anonymousreply 405/04/2013

[quote]I'm not a rocket scientist; I just play one on the big screen.

It was a nuclear physicist, dear. Be careful you don't get typecast.

by Anonymousreply 505/04/2013

I was surprisingly good in BEING JOHN MALKOVICH as the nerdy girl.

And I'm dumber than a box of hair.

by Anonymousreply 605/04/2013

I played an ASS-TRO-fizz-A-cyst!!!!

by Anonymousreply 705/04/2013

I think it's possible, but I've never seen it.

Worst example I've ever seen is when Jeffrey Donovan took over for Robson Green playing Dave Creegan in Touching Evil. It didn't work because Donovan didn't look bright enough to play Creegan.

by Anonymousreply 905/04/2013

On stage, at least, it seems to be readily achievable if they have a smart director who does understand the lines. It's quite a gobsmacking experience to go to the "Meet the actors" night of a Chekhov play. You watch it, and you're seeing all these cultured characters with high sensibility, and then the actors tell you what they thought they were doing and all you can do is roll your eyes.

Of course, if the director's not very bright either you roll your eyes during the show.

by Anonymousreply 1005/04/2013

If one can act, one can project anything.

by Anonymousreply 1105/04/2013

Cam Diaz @R8 is PISSED, you guys!

by Anonymousreply 1205/04/2013

cowardly cunt

by Anonymousreply 1305/04/2013

Cameron Diaz is a good example. She's a good actress and can play smart, though comes across as not all that bright.

by Anonymousreply 1405/04/2013

R8, how do you pronounce "faeces"? Fie-YAY-says?

by Anonymousreply 1505/04/2013