Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Kent State: 43 years ago today

Pictures of the shootings at the link.

Your thoughts?

Are any of our emeritus posters (I won't say e1der gays) around at that time? What do you remember about that event?

by Anonymousreply 2905/05/2013

Horror. One of the defining events in my life. I was 15 and saw the live broadcast from Kent State. The first photo has been seared in my memory for over 40 years.

The National Guard got away with murder. Plain and simple.

by Anonymousreply 105/04/2013

I was a freshman in high school which was located only about 10 miles from Kent State. This was BIG NEWS in the Cleveland area and many people my age and college age were appalled at the Guard behavior. There were a lot of people who went to the moratorium in Washington DC - which I think occurred shortly afterward - to protest.

I went to a recruiting event at Kent State in 1972 and the school played it up BIG TIME - hoping to draw people to the school because of the event. Pathetic, in a way, because they didn't do a very good job at exposing what the National Guard did.

by Anonymousreply 205/04/2013

I remember being a little freaked out as a kid, then I heard "Close to You" and realized it may be alright...

by Anonymousreply 305/04/2013

I was a toddler when this happened but I lived near Kent briefly in my college years and was surprised at what a nerve it still touched there.

I agree with R1. The Guard murdered the citizens it was sent to protect.

by Anonymousreply 405/04/2013

Oh, it was just another day for selfish, entitled, hateful-of-future-generations Baby Boomers.

by Anonymousreply 505/04/2013

R5 eats steaming piles of shit.

by Anonymousreply 605/04/2013

Was anyone ever convicted, or was a trial even held?

by Anonymousreply 705/04/2013

tin soldiers and nixon's coming

by Anonymousreply 805/04/2013

Any good documentaries on this?

by Anonymousreply 905/04/2013