Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Highly intelligent, no social skills

This seems to be a common convention in television and movies, both comedies and dramas -- the person with a very high intelligent who has virtually no social skills -- but does anyone know someone like this in real life?

by Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.reply 4404/20/2013

Never met anyone like that.

by Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.reply 104/18/2013

Yes, if you spend enough time with those with extremely high IQs you'll find a large majority of them are socially awkward.

by Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.reply 204/19/2013

Absolutely. I am a scientist and I have worked with many highly intelligent people, most having not even basic social skills. You kind of just get used to it. It's refreshing in a way, not much gossip and no one is mean.

by Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.reply 304/19/2013

How is OP the only person who has never heard of Aspergers Syndrome?

God some of you live sheltered lives.

by Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.reply 504/19/2013

MIT began running a social skills seminar for new students. The advice was incredibly basic, "shake hands with people" and "say hello when someone comes into the room."

It was a much-needed addition to freshman orientation, although not entirely successful.

by Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.reply 604/19/2013

My boss -- she treats all of her underlings like children (although we all have advanced degrees) and expects you to ESP what she wants you to do from obscure clues. And what's more, if you can't do that, she believes in her heart that you're an idiot.

I hate her.

by Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.reply 704/19/2013