Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

What was the shortest job you ever held?

I worked as a Production Assistant on a John Laroquette sitcom...it was cancelled 3 hours into my first day.

by Anonymousreply 2304/12/2013

I lasted about 5 hours at a restaurant when I was in college. I didn't say a word, just walked out in the middle of dinner.

by Anonymousreply 104/12/2013

Delivery person for a vending machine company - the truck was 106 degrees F inside the box-cab, with sodas, exploding; each case weighed 26 lbs, and I had to lug seven of them up long staircases, using a hand-truck - I now have loads more respect for those doing such a job, as I couldn't cut it. I lasted two weeks. The boss said that most newbies last two DAYS, fwiw.

by Anonymousreply 204/12/2013

I worked in a public school for a month and quit. I hated the beurocracy and the lack of professionalism.

by Anonymousreply 304/12/2013

I lasted one day at a temp job that had me working a sample sale for Dolce and Gabbana (it was supposed to be one week). Horrible experience. Every single person was an asshole, from the D&G people to the customers. It was a 16 hour day and they allowed us one 30 minute break. If they caught two of the temp staff speaking to eachother for even a moment, we were reprimanded. The whole vibe just sucked, and I've never seen such a group of arrogant, self absorbed people in my life. It was absolutely ridiculous. When I left, I called my temp agency and told them there were no way I was going back there. They said they were surprised about my experience because they had that assignment in previous years with no complaints at all. They called me back later to say they had gotten five other complaints from temps who were also not returning; it turns out there had been some kind of management change over that past year. Thinking back on it, I'm sure they were left in quite a bind, and I'm glad.