Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Does your physique influence the way you see yourself in terms of gender?

Weird issue, maybe, but this has always been an issue for me that I could never quite resolve. I'm a grown man in my late 30s with the body template I believe that more resembles a woman than a man: smallish, oval face, small, soft facial features, soft whiskers, narrow shoulders, wide hips, short torso/long legs, some gyno, and a fat ass. I am on the tall side, though, at 6 feet. I know that my more feminine build has influenced how I see myself in terms of gender. Part of me feels like a man, the other part like a woman.

I was a very late bloomer. I didn't begin shaving what wispy facial hair I had until I was a sophomore in college. I always felt intimidated by the other guys in high school and then even in college, because they looked like men. I still feel that way..so physically different...and am very awkward socially, especially around men, straight and gay. They just look so much more developed than me in every possible way. I have absolutely no self-esteem. Having to look at myself in the mirror or have a photo taken terrifies me to no end. In my mind, I never really completed puberty or had a puberty that went totally wrong. My brother and father both look like men physically, so I don't think it's a genetic thing.

I've always been afraid to bring this up with my doctor, because it's embarrassing and a part of me doesn't want this all confirmed for me, if that makes sense.

I like guys. I've been attracted to guys for as far back as I remember, even before all of this started, so that's not an issue. I feel like I'm the only person who's gone through this. I can't even find anything online about it, except stuff on body dysmorphia and gender identity disorder, which are not the issues. Those are psychogical issues. I know what I look like...it's not a misperception.