Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

People who were of age in the 80s

How did you deal with the early stages of the AIDS crisis? Did you become celibate?

by Anonymousreply 2803/05/2013

Yes to the celibacy question. I graduated from high school in 1981,just as news of this disease started to hit. I was still in the closet and the few people I knew who got AIDS were shunned by family and 'friends'. For those who had families that cared, the sick were hidden away to die in anonymity-like my next door neighbors son. Coming from a large,single parent household,my overriding thought then and now was not to let myself become a burden to my family from something I could avoid.

Even though there is less hysteria associated with AIDS today,It still affects me to the point where-at nearly 50 years old now,I have had very few sex partners.

by Anonymousreply 103/05/2013

Why are all these questions about "AIDS in the 80s" always so fucking stupid and wide-eyed? Motherfucker, there are books and plays and films and poems and documentaries and memoirs out there. Avail yourself. Don't count on DL - OMG, what a concept - to do your thinking for you.

by Anonymousreply 203/05/2013

By the way, "celibate," from the original Latin, means "unmarried": from caelibatus "state of being unmarried," from caelebs "unmarried." It does not originally mean "abstaining from sexual intercourse." Self-identified gay men who were not involved in heterosexual marriages in the 1980s were all "celibate," technically speaking. Whether or not they were abstemious is perhaps your question. But it's a stupid question. Be smarter.

by Anonymousreply 303/05/2013

heal your anger r2.....people can ask whatever they want. Why do you expect people to listen to you?

by Anonymousreply 403/05/2013

I don't expect it!