Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

My unemployment insurance ends this week

I am 48 years old, I have an MBA, I was downsized in October of 2011 from a client management/sales position.

I look on-line for a job and I have received calls but to no avail. Much of my time has been spent doing huge amounts of (unpaid) eldercare management work for an Aunt with dementia in another state, transitioning her to a nursing home here in NYC and straightening out her finances and for my Mother, who is in her eighties. I go to the gym and museums as much as I can.

I reside with my Mom in Brooklyn and now have no more savings (except for my 401K, from which I am do not want to withdraw funds) but I have escalating credit card debt.

I know it sounds very shallow and this is where I will get ridicule but I was in senior management and having to work for Bed Bath and Beyond - if I am lucky to get such a job - is just so painful to me. Obviously if I have to I will.

So there must be some of you who have been in such an awful position - what did you do?

by Anonymousreply 13304/03/2014

I died of starvation on the street.

by Anonymousreply 103/03/2013

Could you be consulting during this time? Start a coaching service or something on how to develop good relationships with clients or something? Even if you make no money, it would be good for the resume. Also start a blog and blog religiously...you'd be surprised that magazines and other publications will start asking you to write for them if you're good enough. Don't give up.

by Anonymousreply 203/03/2013

R1 you should have signed your post Fantine, aka Anne Hathaway.

by Anonymousreply 303/03/2013

You may need to move.

Good luck to you OP.

by Anonymousreply 403/03/2013

Move where? And what should OP blog about? Eldercare? Unemployment? Student loan debt for useless graduate degrees?

by Anonymousreply 603/03/2013