Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

How can I convince my partner to just get the fuck over it?

Together three years. He's ten years older but we are compatible in every way and still in love. But, a few times we have had some hardcore verbal fights. About two years ago I said to him in anger (and I was also drunk), "you have all the intellect of a third grader! You're a goddamned stupid idiot!"

Well, he has NEVER gotten over it. And the fact is, he has a learning disability (dyslexia) and is easily overwhelmed by things like how to use a computer or even email. I have a degree, he doesn't. Big deal. Other than that ONE time I was an angry asshole and said a shitty thing, I have never tried to make him feel like he's stupid.

In fact he is very bright about some things, is an extremely hard worker and can fix anything. But he is insecure about not being 'book smart' or having an education.

Now, whenever we get into an argument (not a fight, an argument) he almost immediately launches into, "oh, I must not understand what you're saying because I'm a STUPID THIRD GRADER!" and at those moments I'm thinking, well hell yes you are.

Don't suggest counseling; he would never go - I try in so many ways to build him up and feel better about himself but I am soooooo sick of hearing him throw a two year old comment in my face every time he doesn't like something I say.

by Anonymousreply 8902/20/2013

by Anonymousreply 102/19/2013

I hope your partner is actively looking for someone better than you.

by Anonymousreply 202/19/2013

Sometimes you just can't take back things you say. You hit a nerve trying to be cruel and this is the consequence. You're going to have to be patient about it.

by Anonymousreply 302/19/2013

This marriage can't be saved

by Anonymousreply 402/19/2013

Just say, Yes darling but your my stupid third grader and I wouldn't have you any other way.

by Anonymousreply 502/19/2013