Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Brain zaps without changing my Paxil dosage

I've been on Paxil for fifteen years, and have never altered my dosage substantially. I know what brain zaps are because in my early years I would sometimes forget to take my dose on a given day and I would get them.

Just this last week I've started to get brain zaps again toward the end of the day, yet I've not altered my dosage any in the last several years. Does anyone know why I could be having them? They're not painful but they're disconcerting. I'm having no other symptoms of SSRI discontinuation--no anxiety or depression or OCD or increased libido.

by Anonymousreply 1712/17/2014

I'm sorry, i have no knowledge to reply. But I'm curious what brain zaps mean to you. I am on SSRIs, cymbalta, frequently forget to take dosages, but don't know what brain zaps are.

if you are still on the medication, isn't it prescribed by a psychiatrist or neurologist whom you can see about it?

by Anonymousreply 102/16/2013

r1, this describes what brain zaps are.

by Anonymousreply 202/16/2013

Brain zaps suck. My neurologist switched me from Concerta to Strattera. I got brain zaps daily and my prostate swelled. Side effects went away as soon as I went back to Concerta.

by Anonymousreply 302/16/2013

I had brain zaps too. For one episode.

by Anonymousreply 402/16/2013

I've been on Paxel for about 10 years and if I miss a dose, I have those brain zaps. My poor day was taken of the drug last year and with his dementia his brain zaps would cause his to go into spasms and clench up. It made me so sad, I gave him the drug just to stop those zaps.

Paxel should be taken of the market.

by Anonymousreply 502/16/2013