Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Best Man at a Gay Wedding

This is my first time out as a Best Man.

Any suggestions for a bachelor party?

A stripper 'surprise' is such a cliche. (trust me I know)

Other ideas?

It's a whole new genre.

by Anonymousreply 4802/28/2013

OP how long have you known the groom? What type of personality is he? His likes/dislikes?

by Anonymousreply 102/15/2013

We have known one another for 11 years. He likes everything...travel, good food, junk food, working out, etc.

Very little he does not embrace with enthusiasm.

by Anonymousreply 202/15/2013

...I also do no know the protocol.

I assume this is to be a hosted event and I pay for it, so it has to align with my budget or

Do I ask other guests to contribute?

by Anonymousreply 302/15/2013

OP who are you taking to the wedding?

by Anonymousreply 402/15/2013

Will both grooms attend the bachelor party? Is it an all-male guest list? Will it be an all-gay/gay friendly crowd? I know they're obviously gay friendly if they're invited, but will some be put off by an "intensely gay" night with male strippers, drunken PDAs, the possibility of getting hit on at exclusively gay venues?

And, of course...what is the groom like? That's really what you should be asking yourself: what would he want. A quiet evening with the guys, say like a poker night with a catered dinner and top shelf booze? Or a dinner out at an expensive restaurant followed by a pro sports event or a show? Would he enjoy a stripper or be embarrassed? Is he the type to want a night of club-hopping and heavy drinking? Does he even want a bachelor party? Even some straight guys are forgoing them these days.

by Anonymousreply 502/15/2013

Book the sling room at Midtowne or Steamworks in advance, it fills up early.

Kidding.

by Anonymousreply 602/15/2013

[quote] Very little he does not embrace with enthusiasm.

Is your friend's name Yoda by any chance?