Since 1995

Which One Of You Didn't Go To College?

Why didn't you go?

How do you make a living?

Are you male or female?

How old are you?

This is for those in the US only.

by Pencils down, asses upreply 1502/14/2013

Poor background. My parents never made it to High School themselves, so it wasn't a given. They must have thought I'd get a factory job, like them.

That said, I had no interest in any specific profession like teacher, lawyer, "business".

I did manage to graduate from h.s. and escape my homophobic town, avoiding the fate of my gay uncle (a sometime dishwasher, now on welfare).

I'm a male, 40's, clerical worker.

by Pencils down, asses upreply 102/13/2013

I have a college degree, but my brother does not. He works as a longshoreman, and makes 110k a year (which is much more than myself). He barely made it through high school. My mother didn't graduate from high school, and my father has a high school education. They are very proud of my education, and brag about it quite often. So embarrassing.

by Pencils down, asses upreply 202/13/2013

I dropped out after 3 years to be a writer out in LA.

Eventually ended up in advertising as a creative director. I make 300k a year and hate every second of it.

I'm a guy. 41 in NYC.

by Pencils down, asses upreply 302/13/2013

My step-father was a VP at ABC Radio and never went to college. He wouldn't get a job interview today.

by Pencils down, asses upreply 402/13/2013

Same as R3. Could not drop out fast enough.

Was temping to make a living. Eventually temp went to perm and I worked my way up the ladder. I'm now a Director in fortune 500 company, making 6 figures a year.

My job description requires a college degree but they waived that part because I have direct experience in this biz.

by Pencils down, asses upreply 502/13/2013

I went, but I didn't finish. Mostly because I'm a loser and lazy.