Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Pennsylvania---what do we think?

For some reason I think it would be a wonderful place to live....I have no idea why I think this and have never set foot in the state.

by Anonymousreply 17902/03/2013

No, it isn't. Philly and Pittsburgh have some lovely areas, but on the whole, Pennsylvania is a horrifying shithole. I was born and raised there, and fled to NYC the very second I graduated from high school. It is unbearably racist (there is a very pronounced KKK presence, and 23 listed white-supremacy hate groups in the state), the overall level of education is extremely low, the majority of the population occupies a very low rung on the socio-economic ladder, and it's utterly boring.

It really is, as they say, Pittsburgh and Philadelphia with Alabama in between.

by Anonymousreply 101/28/2013

What part of the state are you from, R1?

I grew up in Philadelphia and, despite its crime and seriously inefficient/corrupt government, I still have love for it.

by Anonymousreply 201/28/2013

Central Pennsylvania is very similar to West Virginia, extreme rural poverty, farms and coal mines.

PA does have two of America's best universities though: University of Pennsylvania and Carnegie Mellon.

by Anonymousreply 301/28/2013

Sigh. It isn't called Pennsyltucky for nothing.

Pretty scenery. Forget it otherwise. Please.

And shoo-fly pie isn't all it is cracked up to be, either.

That said,New Hope is a wonderful,very Gay friendly and liberal area, although it has become a tourist trap and very expensive place to live.

by Anonymousreply 401/28/2013

any state with the same initials as my piercing can't be all that bad.

...though come to think of it I did have my shoes stolen from a campground

by Anonymousreply 501/28/2013

Philadelphia and Pittsburgh with Alabama in between.

by Anonymousreply 601/28/2013

New Hope's about the only hope.