Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Could someone explain the appeal of Stevie Wonder? I have never understood his appeal.

He lost his voice 20 or 25 years ago and sounds god awful.

He sings the same 4 or 5 songs over and over and over - like a hack.

His voice was never very good in the first place.

by Anonymousreply 7101/25/2013

by Anonymousreply 101/22/2013

I'm no expert on his music, but he did record a lot of good stuff in the 70s. Then it took him 3 years to put out 1979's "Secret Life Of Plants" which was the beginning of his decline. It's a double-album soundtrack to a little seen documentary, way too long and weird. It looked like he'd lost his marbles, so he bounced back with the straightforward pop album Hotter Than July, but it was all downhill into adult-contemporary swill after that.

by Anonymousreply 201/22/2013

The crowd at the Inaugural Ball wasn't responding to him AT ALL. Alicia Keyes also got a subdued reception. I don't know how the crowd reacted to Jamie Fox. I turned down the sound the minute he started to warble. It was a pretty lame line up for entertainment.

by Anonymousreply 301/22/2013

R2 has it right...but he seems to have forgotten the '60s. He did some great stuff in the '60s too.

[quote]His voice was never very good in the first place.

I don't agree.

Most pop stars of the 60s & 70s (see all) sound like shit today, but there still seem to be an audience for them, so they keep going and love the applause.

by Anonymousreply 401/22/2013

He had some great songs in the 60's and 70's, but for whatever reason, some people find him annoying. I can never find him annoying because of "Innervisions", "Fulfillingness First Finale" and "Songs In The Key Of Life", all amazing, classic albums.

by Anonymousreply 501/22/2013

It was all downhill after "Fingertips"

by Anonymousreply 601/22/2013