Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Cursing your child for life

I work in a hospital on the labor, delivery and (cesarian) surgery floor in a large hospital. We've been keeping a list of the awful names that have been inflicted on the babies. The list was started before I started working here about five years ago, and we've tried to keep it to the most egregious of names.

One of the nurses told me that several of the names are from Pokemon, but we never got her to put on the list which ones they were before she moved on. I guess there's a lot of Pokemon fans having babies?

Up until last year we were allowed to try to talk the parents out of bad names but the parents made a huge fuss when a Buddhist nurse told the parents that the name they'd picked for their bundle of joy  (Mara Papyon) (a name they'd heard somewhere and never thought to look up) was the name of a Buddhist demon. He was sent to tempt and torture  Siddharta (the Buddha)  The parents were furious when they were told that the demon Mara (“death” or “thirst”), also known as Papiyan (“more wicked")  attributes include blindness, murkiness, death, and darkness. Sometimes simply called the personification of evil. He was also known as the god of lightning, seduction, temptation, sensuality and death.

The list has grown quite a lot since then

Gwentheneria Maebella (does this sound like an STD to anyone else?)

Jynx Sabrile

Dustiny Thea

Spearow Arbo

Arkenene Eve

Kerien (pronounced carrion)

Lily Laeve (middle name is pronounced leave)

Marleena Magdalena

Renesemee Mayle

Alabama Luella (also the name of some celebrity spawn)

Gleason Monroe

Shyla Sage

Paisley Princess (in the mothers defense she was barely 14 when the baby was born)

Harmonique Essela

Ryala Rosalie and Ryu Skye

Sixtine (mother was 16 when she had the baby)

Quality Quinn (named after a writer)

Hypna Niecee

Miake Ence (pronounced Mike-a  En-see)