Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Are there Episcopalians here?

I was raised as one, finding that many guys convert so they can have all of this high church drama without the RC bigotry. My own experience was rather low (we had NO incense in any church I attended).

Moreover, I know a couple of queens who sneer at Bishop Spong because he's "too low" -- ARGH!

by Anonymousreply 6201/24/2015

Saint Mary the Virgin on 46th Street is high church and high camp.

by Anonymousreply 112/30/2012

Cradle Episcopalian here, also gay but tired of all the converts who want RC liturgy without the guilt. What questions do you have?

by Anonymousreply 212/30/2012

Can you explain what you mean by "too low?"

I'm new to religion (yes, seriously) but have been studying via a comparative religion class. I understand the Episcopalians split into two over several issues, gay members and bishops being the main one...?

by Anonymousreply 312/30/2012

Raised low church, never could stand the high-church rituals. Atheist now.

by Anonymousreply 412/30/2012

No questions for you - just wondering if I was right about liking all the pageantry, which I find tedious.

by Anonymousreply 512/30/2012

Ooh, wait. Found my own answer. Sorry.

[quote] Low church is a term of distinction in the Church of England or other Anglican churches initially designed to be pejorative. During the series of doctrinal and ecclesiastic challenges to the established church in the 17th century, commentators and others began to refer to those groups favouring the theology, worship and hierarchical structure of Anglicanism (such as the episcopate) as the truest form of Christianity as 'high church'. In contrast, by the early 18th century those theologians and politicians who sought more reform in the English church and a greater liberalisation of church structure were called "low church".

by Anonymousreply 612/30/2012

They have nice hymns.