Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Dating in the Gay does it work?

I am 38 years old...pretty much an eldergay. I have been in a (98%) monogamous relationship with my partner since 1992. But, as it turns out, things have come to an end. I am new to the dating scene, I was reading on another thread (wish I could remember which one) about how a lot of gay men have some kind of arrested development, especially when it comes to dating, because most of my age and above, never got to experience "normal" dating in our formative years. So, my questions to the DL is "how does it work? what are the do's and dont's of dating?" I have been on a few, but I think I probably come across as too keen. I don't know. I don't have very many gay friends, so I don't really have any one to go to for advice, hence my plea to the DL. Any advice would be appreciated. Oh, and before anyone asks, I'm 5'10, 165 (good shape but could be better), and bald, but would still consider my self above average looking (although a full head of hair would make the world of difference)..... please tell me how the dating game is do I not come over too do I turn people down without feeling like a complete and utter see you next Tuesday?

by Anonymousreply 811/27/2012

If you're for real see a therapist.

You're 38 and already yapping about being old.

You've been in a relationship for 20 years, since you were 18?

Yapping about body issues at an ideal height and weight?

Worrying about having to turn people down ALREADY?

Get help.

by Anonymousreply 111/27/2012

Maybe you're overthinking OP. Just get out there, have fun, live your life. Do stuff you enjoy and you're bound to find other guys like you.

Why did things end after 20 years?

by Anonymousreply 211/27/2012

[quote]I don't have very many gay friends, so I don't really have any one to go to for advice,