Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Are you an academic?

Or have you ever dated one?

I've been dating a great guy. He's handsome, sexy, charming, kind, etc. He's also brilliant. He's a doctor/professor/smartypants with several advanced degrees and he's the director of his department in the university where he's been appointed or whatever. He seems to like me but I'm nowhere near his academic equal. I'm intelligent enough in my way. I have an undergrad degree (big whoop), have a variety of interests and activities that I'm involved in, and can carry on a reasonably intelligent conversation about a variety of topics. But his brain kind of intimidates me. It makes me feel a little insecure.

He doesn't boast about his credentials and is actually quite humble. When we're together it's lovely. We do things and talk about things that most couples do and talk about.

I guess I'm worried that he'll get bored with me or think I'm stupid. And how could I ever relate to his friends and colleagues?

Are there any smartypants/non-smartypants success stories on Datalounge?

by Anonymousreply 2011/15/2012

What's the problem? Smart, successful straight men date/marry stupid (but attractive) women all the time.

by Anonymousreply 111/15/2012

It depends. How big is your dick?

by Anonymousreply 211/15/2012

Why do all these posts sound written by the same person and completely fake.

Who uses "etc." when describing someone's attributes?

by Anonymousreply 311/15/2012

It's obvious: he's only with you because he assumes you're malleable and ignorant; he gets off on controlling you.

by Anonymousreply 411/15/2012

it's probably a real hothouse where he works, he probably appreciates the freshness of being around someone who isn't in his competitive incestuous world. enjoy it and stop being so insecure.

by Anonymousreply 511/15/2012

R2 nailed it.

by Anonymousreply 611/15/2012