Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

How often have you surprised yourself with what you actually CAN DO?

Every now and then I find myself doubting myself so thoroughly until suddenly I realize how I'm the only one completely psyching myself out.

I remember back when I was applying to college, I thought there was no way in hell I would get it and could afford it. I was absolutely convinced that education was not my lot in life. My Mother- who NEVER encouraged me outwardly— told me, "Yes, yes, you can do this." I did. Today I have an advanced degree and I've paid my loans off. I'll never regret it.

Last summer my partner and I decided to put in hardwood floors. Neither of us had any experience. We did some research, watched a lot of videos, read a lot of articles and DYI magazines, asked some friends who knew what to do --- and we did it. We still can't believe how good it looks and we did it ourselves.

What are your lightbulb moments of self-empowerment?

by Anonymousreply 1911/07/2012

by Anonymousreply 111/06/2012

[quote] How often have you surprised yourself with what you actually CAN DO?

Drinking wise, I surprise myself often.

by Anonymousreply 211/06/2012

I like you, OP.

by Anonymousreply 311/06/2012

OP you sound adorable.

by Anonymousreply 411/06/2012

Years ago my partner had advanced cancer. We were young, and I had never dealt with illness at all, really not dealt with much. I was scared to death that I wouldn't be able to handle it. I found surprising strength and met the challenges of caring for him for five years, with little help. He died. There has been very little fear on my part since then about what I can do.

by Anonymousreply 511/06/2012

R5 ((((hugs)))

And here I was, so proud of myself that I lost 20 lbs and am now able to do 40 pushups :/

by Anonymousreply 611/06/2012

R6 you should be proud.