Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

Elementary School Lunches

I am a college student and I mentor a third grader. Today I was with him during lunch. Guess what he had? Frozen pizza, pumkin spice dessert, dried cherries, Bread sticks with cheeese, and Lettuce W/high fat ranch dressing packets. I talked to the lunch woman about all the fat and sodium in the food and she just said that they follow the guidlines. The kids have to take the all the food especially the fruit whether they eat it or not. Most of the food went into the trash. They had 15 minutes from the time they entered the cafeteria to the time they were dismissed for recess to eat. It was beyond crazy. Guess who has an appointment with the principal tomarrow?

by Anonymousreply 6912/21/2012

Sounds like they have not adopted the new guidelines yet.

by Anonymousreply 210/02/2012

I'm surprised the OP did not announce she is "tudoring" the students in English.

by Anonymousreply 310/02/2012

No my grammar is not great. college is not as easy for me as it was for my parents but I get by. I think what I'm saying is still legible though. Mandatory fruit is the "new guidlines" R2. Not much else seems to have changed. The kids do not get healthy meals and even if they did they don't seem to have the time or desire to eat it. That's what I saw.

by Anonymousreply 410/02/2012

Ask the principal why the school hasn't adopted the new federal school lunch guidelines implemented across the country last week.

by Anonymousreply 510/02/2012

And the principal can do nothing for you OP. It isn't the principal's fault. It isn't the lunch lady's fault. Lunch menus are a combination of what the school district decides and what is permissible by the federal government.

by Anonymousreply 610/02/2012

Back in my day we considered ketchup a vegetable!

by Anonymousreply 710/02/2012