Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

I'm 54, single, live in NYC and highly educated.

I feel like I have one good big adventure left in me.

Should I try for one last long term relationship and see if it sticks? (I've had two - 5 and 12 years - and both were great. Both guys are still good friends of mine.) Or should I try to do something fantastic in my career and leave a professional legacy. I have an ivy phd, but I got it later in life, so there is no big book or big body of work, though I had a pretty successful career berfore the PhD.

Sorry, I'm not a multi-tasker in life. Just don't think I have it in me to do both.

I know I'm going to regret the one I didn't do on my deathbed. And I may not have that much time left anyway. Who knows.

by Anonymousreply 2511/25/2012

Have you met DL poster charlie?

by Anonymousreply 109/18/2012

What's the phd in? Academia's a crapshoot - go for dick instead.

by Anonymousreply 209/18/2012

"Who knows."

More to the point, who cares?

by Anonymousreply 309/18/2012

Leaving out what you studied is a big omission, OP. How can we form an opinion on the matter if we don't know this pivotal piece of information?

by Anonymousreply 409/18/2012

The challenge is I put on 25 lbs. finishing up the PhD, and I dont feel like I can get on the dating market until I take that off (I know...)

And my tendency is just to stay at home, work my ass off at my desk and computer, eat and feel lonely.

The career is safer, but more lonely.

Who is Charlie? My gradaute work is in sociology (media studies).

by Anonymousreply 509/18/2012

For a guy with an Ivy PhD, you do not sound like you have a lot of common sense or a very good take on how life works. Since when can you make a big career splash or have a relationship but not both- even more, since when can you count on your choice, career or relationship happening?

I wonder why you got the PhD?