Serving up this steaming pile of
Celebrity Gossip
Gay Politics
Gay News
and Pointless Bitchery
Since 1995

We're screwed!

The fastest growing jobs in the nation earn $20,000 per year: personal care aides and home health aides. Who in the fuck wants to do that?

My neighbor owns a street sweeping business. He's getting PhDs applying to sweep the streets. He won't them because they're overqualified.

My niece, who graduated from college last year is waitressing because she can't find a job She pays close to $300/month in student loans. The scary part is that she is the norm.

In ten years, there won't be a middle class.

by Anonymousreply 11601/29/2013

Actually, I did that job, OP. I now work in the disability field and continue to provide personl care in addition to other aspects of disability support. Supporting others is not work that one need be ashamed of doing (but yes, paying so low does tend to devalue the work that is done, which is a shame.)

by Anonymousreply 206/19/2012

If Romney is elected, and ESPECIALLY if the GOP takes the Congress, the middle-class is definitely gone in a generation or less. That's 20 years, folks.

by Anonymousreply 306/19/2012

The US Government is trying to get Americans to work for less than the Chinese. This is their plan to save the US economy......seriously.

by Anonymousreply 706/19/2012

Wow R8 do you know how to dare Providence or what!

by Anonymousreply 906/19/2012

About a year and a half ago I was making 40k. Lost my job. landed a temp to perm gig after 14 months being out of work. The job is basically the same thing I did at the old job, except I'm now working for a small start up vs a large international company. I'm now making 25k.

I'm living in the southwest. I can just squeak by on 25k, barring stuff like the car crapping out (12 years old) or something needing repairs at home.