Hello and thank you for being a DL contributor. We are changing the login scheme for contributors for simpler login and to better support using multiple devices. Please click here to update your account with a username and password.

Hello. Some features on this site require registration. Please click here to register for free.

Hello and thank you for registering. Please complete the process by verifying your email address. If you can't find the email you can resend it here.

Hello. Some features on this site require a subscription. Please click here to get full access and no ads for $1.99 or less per month.

Let's talk about rock guitar solos, alright?

I've been spending a lot of time revisiting my youth on YouTube. Actually, a bit before I graduated. I mostly loved the Jam, Elvis Costello, and variations of new wave from all over except the "grandpa rock" which I'm now "re-discovering."

The best, most hearfelt musicians?

For me, it's between Joe Walsh and Don Felder on the classic Hotel California, live 1977 version. They never seemed to be dueling and were so seamlessly complementary and fun. Don Henley fortunately just kept time in the background.

and...

Jimmy Page at Led Zeppelin's Earl Court concerts was totally astonishing. Plant looked drunk and stupid.

Offsite Link
by Anonymousreply 16March 26, 2024 3:49 PM

I like the "One of These Nights" (Eagles / Felder) guitar solo.

by Anonymousreply 1March 24, 2024 6:50 AM

When the Osmond started pushing fat Jimmy and another one, they’d allow them to torture the audience with a guitar solo.

I detest guitar solos almost as much as drum and tuba solos.

by Anonymousreply 2March 24, 2024 6:54 AM

Joe Walsh was high as fuck!

by Anonymousreply 3March 24, 2024 7:10 AM

Wrong slot.

Offsite Link
by Anonymousreply 4March 24, 2024 7:11 AM

Terry Kath (Chicago) at Tanglewood.

Offsite Link
by Anonymousreply 5March 24, 2024 9:04 AM

How déclassé.

by Anonymousreply 6March 24, 2024 9:44 AM